Word of the Day – 19/04/2016: Jump.

Jump – Off.
Off – Hand.
Hand – Over.
Over – Head.
Head – Space.


He took a small step, jumping up to see me off. It is a little off-putting the way he grabbed my hand with both of his and shook it tightly. At least it was over, that sick sinking feeling you get when someone goes over your head to cause you problems.
I stepped from the office, the dissent still rattling around in my skull. Co-workers look at me with horror – the spectacle going through their heads, the way they crowd the space around me waiting to hear the bad news.
“I’ve been promoted.”

Leave a Reply

