Flash: Literal Idioms #2.

Strained.


Bed of Roses.
Bite the bullet.
Burn the midnight oil.
Break a leg.
By the skin of their teeth.


There is a bed of roses in a crate, I stare at it vacantly as chaos breaks out around me. My girlfriend anxiously bites the bullet pressed between her lips, pulling it apart by the skin of her teeth. Her gums are bleeding from the task but we need the powder. In the back three men toil away – they break a leg only to reset it in its proper place. Again I’m looking down at the roses wondering if the thorns would make me bleed. We’re already burning the midnight oil just to see what we’re doing and I’ve been awake all day. The revolution will wake me in the morning.

Leave a Reply

