Photosynthetic

I feel photosynthetic, my soul fed by the energies of the universe as it leaks through the backyard fence. Unlike everything else in life, the sun is free.
You finally finish painting, excited to show me the end result. We’re laying beneath the leaves, talking about life and love – red and blue, misery and happiness.
An arm around my waist, pull me close and kiss my cheek. A brief interlude, a few hours alone. The summer skies disappear under leaking roofs and cracked tiles. One warmth exchanged for another, one energy lost as a different kind is gained. You kiss my cheek and I relent to the sordid way of things.

Leave a Reply

